The Summer of Jeff

Python Code for Marcel Projections

Posted in baseball analysis, programming by Jeff on January 14, 2011

A while back, I posted retro-Marcel projections for over 100 seasons.  They were generated with some python code, and now you can play with it.

You’ll also need some Baseball-Databank files.  (Well, you don’t need them, but they will make the process much easier.)

The ‘import’ lines refer to a few utilities that I’ve written.  Those are also available on gitHub.  At some point, I’ll write up a summary of some of my Python utilities.  I’m sure that none of them are original (for instance, turning a 2-d matrix into a .csv, or vice versa), but I use them all the time, and they might come in handy for you, too.

Comments Off on Python Code for Marcel Projections

