The Summer of Jeff

Minor League Splits Databases Available

Posted in baseball analysis by Jeff on January 11, 2011

It’s been a good run, but Minor League Splits will no longer exist in its original form.

I took down the site a few months ago, and have decided to make all of the underlying databases freely available.  This includes full play-by-play of all affiliated minor leagues in the U.S. from 2005 to 2010.

I haven’t decided whether I will update this with 2011 data at the end of next season.  At the very least, I won’t be doing any in-season updates.

At some point in the future, I may open source the code I use to collect and analyze the play-by-play.  That’s a ways off, though.  This was my first major programming project five years ago, so the original code isn’t very good, and as MLBAM has changed things, I’ve added one ugly hack on top of another.  As is, the code is probably not usable for anyone aside from me.

Click here to see what’s available.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jim Breen. Jim Breen said: RT @jeffsackmann: Summer of Jeff: Minor League Splits Databases Available http://bit.ly/dYDyL9 […]


Comments are closed.

