The Summer of Jeff

Race Report: Joe Kleinerman 10K

Posted in running by Jeff on December 7, 2010

Sunday morning, I ran my first 10K, the NYRR Joe Kleinerman Classic in Central Park.  I haven’t been able to run too much in the last month or so, but I was excited to try the “short” distance for the first time.

The course was the standard Central Park loop, this time starting near East 102nd Street and heading counterclockwise.  I was amazed to see that nearly 5,000 runners turned out at 8 A.M. on a Sunday in roughly 28 degree weather.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many pairs of running tights in my life.

Anyway, I was shooting for a sub-45:00 time, recognizing that the goal might be a little far-fetched.  After all, my last half-marathon time translates to a 48:00 10K.  I knew I could do better than that, but by how much?

The first mile or so was frustrating–because of that disappointing half-marathon, NYRR didn’t give me credit for being very fast, and I had to start in the fourth corral.  Thus, I spent the entire race passing people.  So my first mile was the slowest–by far.  I’m slow to warm up, so I probably wouldn’t have run it any faster than 7:30, but that still would’ve made quite a difference.  After that first mile, I still had to do a bit of dodging, but it didn’t slow me down much.

Here are my mile-by-mile splits:

  1. 7:58
  2. 7:20
  3. 6:57
  4. 7:04
  5. 7:11
  6. 6:52
  7. 1:38 [0.26 miles – 6:26 pace]

Miles 1, 2, and 5 are the net uphills.  They average (according to my Garmin, which occasionally has wonky things to say about elevation) about 110 feet ascending and 80 feet descending.

Add it all together and you get … 45:02.  As you can see, I pushed pretty hard for the last mile and change, but it wasn’t quite enough to come in under 45:00.

For the first time, though, I finished a race feeling like I had given my best possible effort.  Maybe that’s easier to do in shorter races, since there aren’t as many miles to save yourself for.  In any event, I’m very happy with how things went.

Next up, the Ted Corbitt 15K, again in Central Park, 12 days from today!

Comments Off on Race Report: Joe Kleinerman 10K

