The Summer of Jeff

Astoria to the George Washington Bridge

Posted in running by Jeff on April 19, 2010

I’ve been running with a Garmin Forerunner 305 for the last several months, but I just discovered the Garmin Connect feature, which allows me to create cool maps like this that show where I ran.

This morning, I ran 22 miles, starting in Astoria, over the Triboro bridge to Randall’s Island, then into the city via the 102nd St. pedestrian bridge. I cut across Manhattan to Riverside Drive, then headed up Riverside to Washington Heights. Finding the access ramp to the pedestrian/bike path over the bridge was a challenge–some online sources say access is at 178th and Ft. Washington, but it is actually two blocks further west, at 178th and Cabrini, on the south side of 178th.

I zigzagged through Harlem to get back to the Triboro, then took the long route around Randall’s island to round the route up to an even 22 miles.

Click the link for the map.

Comments Off on Astoria to the George Washington Bridge

