The Summer of Jeff

Marcel spreadsheets for pitchers

Posted in baseball analysis by Jeff on August 2, 2010

I’ve now uploaded year-by-year spreadsheets with Marcel projections for pitchers, dating back to 1906.  Each set of projections relies on the previous three years of data and uses Tango’s algorithm exactly, barring mistakes in my coding or interpretation.

I started with 1906 because the Baseball Databank spreadsheet only has batters faced (BF) back to 1903.  It would be easy enough to estimate BF, but for now, I’ve only projected years where I can use BF for all seasons the projections draw upon.

As with hitters, I’ve made no league-specific adjustments.  ERA is calculated using Marcel-projected IP and ER; I didn’t do any kind of DIPS or BsR adjustments.

Comments Off

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

